Community Introductions

I got some feedback for a thread where folks can introduce themselves and maybe share a bit where they are coming from. Let’s keep it simple and if you want, just introduce yourself and a few things about you.

Some ideas to share:

• From Raleigh or not. If not, where?
  • What is DTR missing?
  • What do you enjoy most about DTR?
2 Likes

Great idea! :wink:

I’m Jack, and I’m from Raleigh, or the surrounding suburbs, rather. I’m currently a student at community college, and I plan to pursue a career in city and regional planning.

I’ve always been fascinated by the built environment and how it shapes our lives, so the infrequent trips I take into Downtown are always enjoyed. Just being there makes me happy, and I must admit that walking around the city is for me an experience not unlike that of a child at Disneyland (though I’ve never been there).

I’m very excited for Downtown’s future, and I especially hope to see further transit options made available and more density built to create a true urban environment, with distinct neighborhoods and districts. My wish is for Downtown to become even more of a vibrant, liveable part of the city; a place where I and many others want to call home.

6 Likes

I’m Pierre, 26, and I work full time as a traffic engineer for an engineering/architecture firm called Stantec here in Raleigh. Our transportation group mostly does NCDOT projects and dabbles in some city/developer traffic studies as well.