Height Restrictions : How tall is "TALL"

Okay, I’m no expert in height restrictions or zoning restrictions or what have you, But maybe this would be of help to some, including myself on how tall or how high a High Rise should be ? 10…20…30…maybe 40 ? Remember the Soleil Center that was to be built near Crabtree Valley mall, look what happen to that, i still believe today that it should of been in Downtown Raleigh but oh well. Any thoughts guys/gals.

Well, my answer needs framed…I think the majority of any city should be densely packed buildings from 3-10 stories tall. Then, you can plop a mega building here and there, and maybe have a few low density areas attached or burrowed in here and there, if they are done right. Both the low density and super tall stuff need good street experiences and be connected up to the street and transit systems properly. So 80 stories is good by me if it’s the Empire State building, but not if its the Bank of America building in Atlanta (go street view it and puke). Suburbs are cool if they are Oakwood or Cameron Park but not if they are Hedingham or Briar Creek. I really don’t care about height all that much but do care about the bigger picture in which any building is placed.

7 Likes

If I had to choose, I would rather a building be more architecturally compelling rather than tall for the sake of tall. I think scale should come into play as well. If the majority of buildings are in the 400-500 foot range, an 800 footer, while being impressive, would look somewhat out of place. I think Richmond, Va is a good example of a smaller city with an impressive skyline due to the fact that the building heights tend to complement one another.

13 Likes