New Raleigh Skatepark

This is my first time creating a new topic, so feel free to delete if this does not seem like it needs its own topic. But as a young skater who is moving back home after college I am finding it incredible that Raleigh has only 1 publicly funded skatepark. And not even a good one at that. I know Apex has a nice skatepark that is free, and Neighbor2Neighbor has a public park as well (funded through donations) but it would be nice to have a concrete park to allow skaters in downtown a place to congregate. I personally have nearly been arrested skating the train station plaza, and with all the new development in downtown, it is a haven for skaters (Moore Square, RUS, NC State, Smoky Hollow, City Plaza, etc.), but a nightmare for residents and developers. The best deterrent for skaters to not skate private property is to build a public park where they would rather be that is better than the streets. I would love to hear y’alls thoughts and suggestions! I got this idea from the Freedom Park thread and have honestly been thinking we’ve needed one since I moved back in during COVID.

8 Likes

And of course, you can never deter all skaters from skating in the street, it’s part of the culture, but anything is better than nothing.

1 Like

I don’t skate. But it’s something I’d be thrilled to see added to the downtown Raleigh community.

5 Likes

I’d support that. Any suggestions as to location?

How about the northern half of Pullen? It’s underutilized compared with the southern half, and would be walking (skating?) distance from likely hundreds of skaters at NCSU

Good option. Up there where the Tennis courts ara?